#kartcancook – birth of the hashtag

Pan-seared barramundi with mango salsa

If you know me, you’ll know that I am obsessed with food.

I get hungry every 3 to 4 hours. I always have a snack handy. I want to know what’s for dinner the minute I’m done with lunch.

Now that I’m a poor full-time student, one of my goals is to prepare my own meals as much as possible. My motivations are threefold:

  1. Save money
  2. Lose weight
  3. Eat better (i.e. healthier)

Here’s the rub: I’m no cook. I can fry an egg for my indomie goreng, I can put a frozen pizza in the oven, I can chop up veggies for a salad (but the chopping takes forever).

I have no idea how to clean a fish (or a chicken – do chickens even need cleaning?). It takes me an hour to skin potatoes for begedel. And I suspect I will derive great benefit from a food processor, if only I knew what it can do.

So wish me luck on my culinary journey, as I experiment with whatever I can find in the fridge and larder, and attempt to plan my meals for the week…

Leave a Reply

